The Way We Learn

Hey Misster

While I spend plenty of time pondering how to pass the next 7 months of my life and practicing to become a better yogi, I actually DO spend a ton of time in the classroom. Since arriving in Kerinci, Indonesia, I have navigated the challenging path to finding my place within a shared classroom, begun to piece together the best practices of the International Baccalaureate model and expanded my teaching experiences by volunteering to teach English to students with various mental and physical handicaps.

It’s an interesting balance. Starting November first I really saw my classes take off and I attribute this to the update in scheduling that I implemented with my co-teachers. By integrating more English-specific learning where I am leading the class, I have seen an awesome improvement in my students’ vocabulary retention, spelling exploration and conversational abilities. It’s been an exciting thing to experience.

I’ve also added…

View original post 538 more words

Leave a Reply

