Evaluating Thinking: Why Connect to our Experience and Intuition?

Shifting Phases

In a previous post, I explained the thought process behind seven of my choices of standards for evaluating thinking.  They are mostly unsurprising items like clarity, precision, and logic, unpacked into student-friendly language (I hope).  The remaining one is not like the others.  When we are evaluating reasoning, I ask my students to find and evaluate the connections to their own experience and intuition.

I don’t do this because I want them to reject ideas that contradict their expectations. I also don’t do it because it’s a warm-and-fuzzy way of making things seem “personal” or because it’s a mnemonic that anchors things in your brain.  Finally, I don’t do it (anymore) as a way to elicit and stamp out their ideas.  I do it because a bunch of previously disconnected thoughts I’ve had about teaching are converging here.  I’m trying to document the convergence.

The more I ask students…

View original post 492 more words

Leave a Reply

